The Department offers a two-year (4-semester) Masters' program, with an annual intake of approximately 370 students.The first and third semesters run from July to November, while the second and fourth semesters run from January to May. The course structure for admissions until 2018-19 comprised of core and elective courses, whose semester-wise distribution are listed here. The complete syllabus can be downloaded here.

The course structure was revised in 2019 and comprises of core, electives and open-electives. The semester-wise distribution of courses and their syllabi applicable for Admissions 2019-20 onwards can be downloaded here .

Mode of Examination: Each subject of the M.Sc course carries 100 marks and has two components: Internal Assessment of 30 marks and an End-Semester Examination of 70 marks. The Internal Assessment comprises of an examination and/or assignments. Examinations for the laboratory courses are through a continuous assessment throughout the semester. Examinations foreach subject are conducted only in the respective odd and even Semesters as per the Scheme of Examinations. Regular as well as ex-students shall be permitted to appear/re-appear/improve in the subject examination held in the corresponding semesters, i.e. odd Semesters subjects only at the end of Odd Semester and Even Semesters subjects only at the end of Even Semesters. There is no provision of holding an examination for a subject other than which it is assigned to.

Promotion Criteria: A student will be promoted to second year if he/she passes at least 4 subjects of the first year.

© All rights reserved. Design by Department of Physics & Astrophysics, University of Delhi, Delhi 110007 Any suggestions may be communicated to