Study @ Physics

Postgraduate admissions for M.Sc. and PhD courses [more...] 1

Research @ Physics

Information regarding our research groups, contacts and programmes [more...] 2

  1. Adhoc Panel of Assistant Professor of Physics in DU Colleges (updated until Jan 2020).Interested candidates whose names do not appear in this list may apply by 12th October 2020 as per Guidelines
  2. Information about the admission in M.Sc. and Ph.D. 2020-21 courses
  3. Open Electives being offered by Departments in Faculty of Science
  4. Time Table for III Semester 2020-21
  5. III Sem-Allotment of Slots for Computer Lab
  6. Consent Form From Supervisor for Dissertation for III and IV Semesters
  7. List of Open Elective Courses for III & IV Semesters
  8. Date Sheet for MSc Physics Final Year Open Book Exam September 2020
  9. Meeting of IIIrd Sem students with HoD on 9th September at 230 pm
  10. Guidelines for Elective Papers for IIIrd and IVth Semesters
  11. Courses and Teaching Assignments for AY2020-2021
  12. Time Table for Core Courses of III Semester
  13. Nodal Officers for OBE of undergraduate and postgraduate courses
  14. Revised Datesheet for M.Sc. OBE August 2020
  15. Notice reading "Quantum Mechanics IA",July 2020
  16. Notice reading Solid State Physics IA on 15th July, 2020
  17. Notice reading Quantum Mechanics IA on 28th July, 2020
  18. Notice (11July 2020): Internal Assessment for second semester students
  19. Datesheet for M.Sc. OBE July 2020 (Semester -IV)
  20. Announcement for M.Sc(Prev.) Students
  21. Announcement for Final Year Students: Please contact the teachers of your Optional Papers in Semester IV urgently regarding the schedule and modality of Internal Assessment. If you are unable to contact any of them, please e-mail to or
  22. Revised Academic Calendar
  23. Contribution to The PM CARES Fund
  24. Online teaching & learning: Course Materials for 2nd and 4th Semester
  25. Guidelines for online thesis submission during COVID-19 lockdown period
  26. Notice: Regarding Student Portal to Online Examination Form (for session May - June 2020) of Ex and Regular students of all UG and PG courses.
  27. Registration process on hold for admissions 2020-21
  28. Office order regarding COVID-19
  29. UGC circular regarding safety instructions
  30. Revised deadlines for foreign students admission
  31. Foreign students admission
  32. Dissertation Request Form - 2019
  33. Subject change Request Form for sem-IV- 2019
  34. DAE C. V. Raman Lecture-2019 will be held on 23rd September 2019, Venue: DSK Hall, Time 15.30hrs.
  35. Notice: Commencement of First Semester (M.Sc.Previous) classes and Orientation Programme : August 7, 2019
  36. M.Sc. (Final) classes will start on Wednesday July 31, 2019 : Time Table for III Sem.
  37. Options Allotment list for 3rd Semester 2019
  38. Notice regading the submition of option form : CHOICE OF OPTIONS IN MSC III AND IV SEMESTER
  39. Revised Syllabi (B.Sc & M.Sc.: with effect from Academic Session 2019-20)
  40. Last date of submission of option form (2019-20, M.Sc. Sem. III and IV): 25 July 2019 till 18.00hrs
  41. UG Physics Summer 2019: Last date for Application 15 June 2019
  42. Notice regarding orientation/ counseling meeting for choice of the optional papers for M.Sc. III/IV Semesters
  43. Guidelines:Optional papers-Sem. III and IV
  44. Steering Committee for the Undergraduate Course revision (under LOFA)
  45. Admission 2019: FOREIGN STUDENTS' REGISTRY
  46. Visitors' Programme 2019
  47. Notice: Option Change request for IV sem.
  48. Option Change request form 2018 for IV sem.
  49. Result of Ph.D. Admission Interviews - 27, 28, 29 September, 2018
  50. Ph.D. Admission 2018 (27-29 Sept.): List of Candidates
  51. Mentors for First Year M.Sc.Students
  52. Notice: M.Sc Admission 2018-19
  53. Second Admission List 2018-19 - M.Sc. Physics
  54. First Sports Admission List 2018-19 - M.Sc. Physics
  55. First PWD/CW Admission List 2018-19 - M.Sc. Physics
  56. Allotted option for Sem. III and IV : login in your account
  57. Allotment of Optional Papers for Semester-III (July, 2018)
  58. Revised Adhoc Panel 2018
  59. M.Sc. (Final) classes will start on Monday July 23, 2018 : Time Table for III Sem.
  60. Last date of submission of optional papers (2018-19, M.Sc. Sem. III and IV): 20 July 2018 till 16.00hrs
  61. Online form for optional papers (Sem. III and IV)
  62. Revised M.Sc Syllabus: Sept. 2018
  63. MSc Draft Syllabus
  64. Request for Feedback for M.Sc. & B.Sc. Physics Courses from stakeholders
  65. Portal will be opened for online submission of optional papers ( 2018-19, M.Sc. Sem. III and IV) from 14th July 2018
  66. Request for Feedback for B.Sc. Physics Courses from stakeholders | Notice |
  67. Time table for semester II w.e.f. January 01, 2018
  68. Time table for semester IV w.e.f. January 01, 2018
  69. Mentors for Final Year M.Sc.Students -2017
  70. Mentors for First Year M.Sc.Students -2017
  71. Dissertation Request Form - 2017.pdf
  72. Notice: Ph.D Interview Result 2017, 9th August. |Page -1 |Page -2 |Page -3 |Page -4 |Page -5|
  73. The Executive Council considered and approved the appointment of Prof. Takaaki Kajita, Nobel Laureate, Professor of Physics, University of Tokyo as Honorary Professor in the Department of Physics & Astrophysics as per provisions of Ordinance XII-B of the Ordinances of the University
  74. Notice: Commencement of I sem (M.Sc.Previous) classes and orientation programme : Aug 3, 2017
  75. Notice: Commencement of III sem (M.Sc. final) classes: 28 July, 2017
  76. Admission 2017
  77. Guidelines:Optional papers-Sem. III and IV
  78. Online form for optional papers (Sem. III and IV)
  79. II/IV Sem Exam Schedule
  80. M.Sc. Result
  81. Colloquium on March 20,2017
  82. Option submission date extended: till 15th July 2017
  83. Notice regarding choice of optional papers
  84. :wq

Academic Calendar Time Table Forms


  1. > Alumnus Dr Manoj Gupta (PhD 2011) awarded CSIR Young Scientist Award for Physical Sciences 2020
  2. > Prof. Patrick Das Gupta, recenly elected as the President of the Indian Association for General Relativity and Gravitation (IAGRG).
  3. > Prof. Avinash Khare appointed as V-C, Sikkim Universitay.
  4. > Mr. Neeraj Kumar, Research Scholar of the Department has been received "Young Scientist Award" at "International conference on new frontier in Nuclear Physics" held at BHU, Varanasi, October 17, 2019.

Recent events

Work @ Physics


Welcome to the website of Department of Physics & Astrophysics, University of Delhi. We are located in the picturesque North Campus of the University. Our department is a part of the historical Viceregal lodge. We are proud to be the largest and one of the oldest Physics department in the country. Our dedicated members continuously strive to uphold the value of higher education.
© All rights reserved. Design by Department of Physics & Astrophysics, University of Delhi, Delhi 110007 Any suggestions may be communicated to